Another Move

Pack. Unpack. Repack. Move. Another home. Another building. Another, ‘now how in the world did everything expand’. Another bathroom situation. Another ‘I’m sorry, what is that?’. Another dead fish looking at me. Another language. Another location.

I am adjusted to being on the move all the time. Naturally, as a college student it seems I have no permanent place to call my own. I thrive off new things and new experiences, which have brought me to the splendid kingdom of Thailand. The hard part is the packing and carrying my packs. I packed light (light for me) in coming on practicum, but definitely have gained a couple of items that weren’t factored into the original plan of packing. I have come to the realization though that I will never get to be a light packer. The ever present issue of my health seems to prevent me in doing so. I thought I forgot some of my medication back Chiang Mai, but was relieved to find it tucked neatly in the bottom of my Jade pack. Practicum is soon coming to a close. In fact, they cut ours a day short because we are so exhausted. I can be a troubled sleeper at times, and it seems here that even the days that were meant to be restful, seemed exhausting. Though I can honestly say things have been shifted into a new perspective. The rock hard mattress actually is softer than tile floor. Warm showers are a blessing. If the internet doesn’t cut out at some point, you’re lucky. Village life for me is not an ideal life plan. I still love rice. I also still love fried noodles. I need something soft to sleep, whether that be an actually soft blanket, or using my travel scarf. I also recognize that the culture I come from gives me the freedom to choose my future. And to choose how I want to act, dress, and be.

Sunday morning came all too fast. We were spoiled with real coffee and scrambled eggs at our hosts house as we headed back to MMF. I sat through the Monday devotional and focused my tired energy towards the conversation on Acts. We went out for lunch and had moo dang (red pork in rice) and returned to work on social media for MMF. In marketing the term was used, “social media or die”, meaning that organizations will not survive unless they keep up with social media and keep the topic relevant. MMF is lucky to have big donors that support them. My short time here I can only offer a little piece of what I know on social media for organizations. It can be harder coming in and trying to change what someone else tried to start. There are some hiccups that I catch that cannot be easily changed, but I can offer ways of looking at social media as a tool to help the organization stay relevant and communicate cross-culturally. In being here I have come to realize my heart for helping small organizations stay relevant even amongst societies that shift their generous givings to the “sexy topic” of the decade. Perhaps in the future people and their need will not fade into last decades issue, but that people will strive for the cause until every person, village, province, or country has and is aware of the resources available to them.

In the evening we had our last dinner with the family at Grace Children’s Home. It was calming to have a cup of coffee and chat about culture. I deeply appreciate the family for taking us in. They said we are always welcome and I hope to return to see them again. There is something to be said about families that accept anyone as family. They love unconditionally, always have a cup of hot coffee or some food item to offer, and open for conversation. Anna and Abe who own the home are incredibly loving and have a heart for God and a heart to help children have a better chance at life and education. Their kindness and hospitality inspires me to be more giving and more loving. Things will fade away, but people will know love by the little actions that display love. In a cup of coffee, conversation, and a show if care. How much better the world may be, if people simply took the time to Just care for one another.

Tomorrow we leave for a Karen village that is about an hour away from Doi Saket. The village has no electricity, which means, no internet! We will be in the village through Saturday and then return home to Doi Saket. Then we leave for the Phuket Beach on Monday! Prayers to power through the exhaustion are greatly appreciated. I am exhausted, but still am soaking up the great opportunities around me. Pictures will come soon when I am around stronger internet! Thank you everyone for walking with me through this!

DSCF4097
The Ahka hilltribe are known for the hats with silver on them. This lady is from Myanmar and let me take a picture with her while wearing one of the traditional hats! I thought they would be heavy, but surprisingly they are very light!
DSCF4096
Our last dinner with our Lahu adopted family! Anna makes such good food and we are incredibly blessed to be welcomed in by them. They made us feel at home in an unfamiliar place. It is amazing how hospitable people are, and I am forever thankful for their family’s love and great Lahu food!

Blessings,
Bethany Jane

Leave a Reply

