Fighting Hate With Love

on

I walked up the stairs, much like any morning, but heard the sound of the news as I reached the front door. I could feel the world hurting. While we try to push aside that something of such great tragedy could not occur on our shores, the truth is that it does. Every day the people that we know and love are met with a stance of hate. A stance of death and destruction in the form of words, and in the form of life.

The writer in me has been trying to comprehend my understanding of the events this world is experiencing. In my hometown, two men lost their life standing up against the hateful rants of a dangerous man. Across the sea in a country not so different from our own, children lost their lives going to a concert with friends and family. The hatred that people carry in their hearts are meant to destroy, to kill, to inflict as much pain as possible.

Yet, they lack an understanding of what occurs in the hearts of those faced with hate. They are matched simply with love. The angels we have lost to this world are being lived on through the love that others are carrying in their hearts, their words, and in their actions.

I watched Ariana Grande’s One Love Manchester concert with tears welling up in my eyes. I am not a part of the tragedy, but it is something that will forever be etched in my memory. While different artists came together to raise money for the the angels lost and the brave warriors who were wounded, I could only hold onto the feeling of loss and love in the etches of my heart.

Ariana created a beautiful concert that helped the world feel just a little bit closer. The pains the world is experiencing is no match for the amount of love that call people to reach out and take care of one another. While I may feel safe on the shores of New Zealand, the sadness of the world is still felt. I cannot take it upon myself to fix anything, or offer any word of proper condolences that make up for the tragedies, but I can reach out my hand in love.

I reach out with the love that pours from my heart. The same love that has reached out to my friends in the wake of their own tragedy. The one that has held the hands of those losing their own battle, to the ones that faced hate with absolute love. Tragedy is a part of life, but it does not define us. Acts of hate have no place in our hearts, because we know the power of coming together.

I grieve for Manchester, for London, for Portland, and for the tragedies that we do not hear of. I grieve, but with any horror that this world throws around, we know there is hope. Humans thrive on the narrative that provides us hope. Hope for a better future, for a better life, and for a better world.

We stand with you. We love you. And we will continue to fight hate with love.

Love and Light,

Bethany Jane

Leave a Reply

